Politics Image

NOTE: The Cape May County Herald is offering full coverage of the COVID-19 / coronavirus emergency to all, with no payment required. We are committed to ensuring our readers can make critical decisions for themselves and their families during this ongoing situation. To continue supporting this vital reporting, please consider a digital subscription. For more coverage, subscribe to our daily newsletter.

COURT HOUSE – Cape May County saw 30,160 cast their vote Nov. 5, a turnout of nearly 42%, according to the Cape May County Clerk's website, capemaycountyvotes.com.

The following are unofficial results compiled by the county Clerk’s Office.

Republicans swept the Senate and General Assembly seats in the First Legislative District.

State Senate

In Cape May County, Republican Mike Testa earned 15,840 votes to Democratic incumbent Robert “Bob” Andrzejczak’s 13,167. According to a published report, Testa received 27,163 in the district, which includes Cape May, Cumberland, and Atlantic counties, while Andrzejczak got 23,636. 

General Assembly     

Republicans Erik Simonsen and Antwan McClellan outpolled Democratic incumbents R. Bruce Land and Matthew Milam. Simonsen and McClellan received 16,121 and 15,338 votes, respectively, while Land got 12,247 votes and Milam received 11,886.

In the district, Simonsen got 26,544 votes and McClellan received 25,521. Land got 23,098 votes and Milam received 22,555.


Republican incumbents Gerald Thornton and E. Marie Hayes retained their seats on the Board of Chosen Freeholders, with 16,105 and 15,833 votes, respectively. Democratic challengers Joyce Gould and Elizabeth Casey received 12,035 and 11,883 votes, respectively.

Municipal Races

Dennis Township Committee

Republican incumbents Zeth Matalucci, with 1,377 votes, and Matthew Cox, with 1,314, won re-election to the governing body. Democrat Carlos Morales received 811 votes.

Middle Township Committee

Republican James Norris outpolled Democratic incumbent Michael Clark, with 2,813 votes to Clark’s 2,620 votes.

North Wildwood    

Republican incumbents will return to City Council. They include: Council-at-large Salvatore Zampirri, 840 votes; 1st Ward, Margaret Bishop, 473; and 2nd Ward, Edwin Koehler, 353. There were no Democratic challengers.   

Stone Harbor

In an uncontested race, Republican incumbent Charles Krafczek won re-election to Borough Council, with 193 votes. Newcomer Jennifer Gensemer, also Republican, received 221 votes.

Republican incumbents Reese Moore and Frank Dallahan were unopposed in their re-election bids to the governing body. Moore got 195 votes for the one-year unexpired term, and Dallahan received 200 votes for the two-year unexpired term.

Upper Township Committee

Republican incumbents John Coggins and Hobart (Hobie) Young retained their seats on committee, with 2,639 and 2,662 votes, respectively. Democrat Donald Oral received 1,412 votes.

Borough of West Wildwood

Amy Korobellis will fill the remaining year of Cornelius Maxwell’s term on West Wildwood Borough Commission. Korobellis outpolled challengers John Banning and Anna Doherty, with 122 votes to their 103 and 27 votes, respectively.

City of Wildwood

With three seats open, and nine candidates, incumbent Peter Byron won re-election to Wildwood City Commission with 568 votes. His two running mates, Krista Fitzsimons and Steven Mikulski received 572 and 559 votes, respectively.

The other contenders were Ernest Troiano, Jr., 427; Jeanne Kilian, 346; Timothy Blute, 266; Gary DeMarzo, 248; Michele Lopez, 197; and Robert Dilks, 165.

Woodbine Borough Council

Unchallenged incumbents Mary Helen Perez (Independent) and Eduardo Ortiz (Republican) will return to the governing body, with 276 and 249 votes, respectively.

State Question 1

A statewide question asked voters whether New Jersey should extend property tax deductions to military veterans who live in continuing care retirement communities. In Cape May County, 17,238 voted yes, while 6,262 voted no. Statewide, 867,123 voted yes, while 279,913 voted no.

Lower Township Question 1 

In a non-binding referendum, voters in Lower Township supported the construction of a proposed $10.5 million aquatic center at the Cape May County Airport, with 2,945 yes votes, and 2,838 no votes.

Sea Isle City Question 1

Sea Isle City voters, in a non-binding referendum, said no to a public swimming pool as part of the construction of a municipal recreation building, with 489 no votes, and 386 yes votes.

For school district election results, go to http://bit.ly/2NsWMVQ.

Load comments