NOTE: Please consider a digital subscription or contribution. For more coverage, subscribe to our daily newsletter.

CLERMONT - Dennis Township Mayor Zeth Matalucci presented a mayoral proclamation to the boys and girls varsity basketball teams at Bishop McHugh Regional Catholic School (BMRCS) March 11, on the occasion of the teams’ recent historic championship titles.


In a historic victory, both teams won the 2020 Cape Atlantic Catholic League Championship in final playoff games, at Holy Spirit High School, on March 4.


The girls varsity basketball team defeated St. Joseph’s of Somers Point. and the boys varsity basketball team defeated St. Vincent’s of Mays Landing to earn the championship titles.


Both varsity teams previously won the Optimist Tournament in North Wildwood on March 1.


“From start to finish, this was one of the best seasons in BMRCS school history,” stated BMRCS Principal Tom McGuire. “A special thank you goes out to our varsity coaches for partnering with us in providing values."


BMRCS eighth-graders Rashee Bell and Madison Palek won the MVP awards for the Optimist Tournament.


Players on the championship boys team include Rashee Bell, Michael Carr, Anthony Edwardi, Charlie Dunner, Anthony Farmer, Chris Gehman, Tayshaun Jackson, Roman Johnson, Jeremiah Jones, Dustin Laricks, Joseph Young, and Will Welsh.


Players on the championship girls team include Gabriella Cruz, Abigail DiStaulo, Grace McMahon, Imogene Nuss, Natalie Nuss, Madison Palek, McKenzie Palek, Riley Taylor, and Allison Welsh.


The boys varsity team is coached by George Dunner. The girls varsity team is coached by Keith and Jenessa Palek.


Recommended for you

Get 'The Wrap', a new way to get the news.

We wrap up the news from the Shore you love, and deliver it to your inbox, weekly.