County NAACP Branch Installs New Officers

Members of the Cape May County NAACP installed new incoming officers and executive board members Nov. 14. Cape May County’s chapter was out of compliance, but now, they have members and last month, held their elections to be fully compliant with the state conference. The oath was administered by Richard T. Smith, president of the New Jersey State Conference of the NAACP.

Officers installed were:

  • President - Alexander Bland
  • Vice President - Quanette Vasser-McNeal
  • Vice President II - Christopher L. Hines
  • Secretary - Wanda Shepard
  • Assistant Secretary -April Love
  • Treasurer - Sheryl Cisrow
  • Assistant Treasurer - Tracy Cardwell

Branch Officers received a certificate of honor from Mayor Tim Donohue and the Middle Township Committee.

The NAACP invites anyone to join who supports its mission to “ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate racial hatred and racial discrimination."

Branch President Alexander Bland is the first to hold the office since the death of Christina Hatcher, and at 29, he is the youngest NAACP branch president in New Jersey. At the installation, he stressed the importance of building membership to keep the branch expanding. He also talked about future events, like the annual Martin Luther King breakfast, in January, and the Freedom Fund, in March.